Rules issues

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  darksteve on Mon 5 Nov - 21:09

Only for himself => the rules of the assassins says, that nobody may use his leadership.

darksteve

Messages : 312
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-25
Age : 32

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Mon 5 Nov - 23:28

I'm not sure. Actually the faq says:


Q: When taking a Leadership test, sometimes you have to take it on
your unmodified Leadership. What is your unmodified Leadership?
(p10)
A: Your unmodified Leadership is the highest Leadership
characteristic in the unit. So the Leadership from any
characters in the unit itself (but not from outside the unit, from
Inspiring Presence for example) with a higher Leadership can
be used unless specifically stated otherwise.


I don't know what exactly says the DE book but "can't use the leadership" doesn't mean that it doesn't count for an unmodified one.
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Tue 6 Nov - 8:17

The DE armybook has this " A killer but no leader" special rule for Assissins and there it specifically states that the unit he might be in may not use his LD. I read it the same way as darksteve. Probably translation into different languages mixes that up?

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  ElDorte on Tue 6 Nov - 9:30

With the mage level it was not my fault because the german faq said it so at this time. I was standing next to biboun in sion and showed him and Jon the German FAQ.
They must changed it meanwhile.

ElDorte

Messages : 181
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  ElDorte on Wed 7 Nov - 9:49

I have a question.

Do i have to take my rerolls? Like hatred, asf or bsb.

For example: if i lose a combat and would flee but the unit is in bsb range. Do i have to reroll the test or may i not use it.

ElDorte

Messages : 181
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Wed 7 Nov - 10:26

Depends on what exactly is stated for the reroll.

If it says something like you can/may then you do not need to do so.
But if it states something along the line "has to take a reroll" well then you have no choice.

Usualy you have the choice - for example rerolls with the BSB - but I do not know if there are other specific cases with some stuff in other army books.

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Wed 7 Nov - 11:22

With ASF in italian version is written "you may re-roll". Maybe would be better to check the english one.


For the BSB I'm sure that you have to reroll each failed test (even casket of doom and others..)
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Wed 7 Nov - 13:07

For the BSB I'm sure that you have to reroll each failed test

Would be interested what the english book says to that - german says you may, if I remember correctly.

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  ledwarfou on Wed 7 Nov - 13:22

The English says that :

"Friendly models within 12'' of the BSB re-roll failed leadership test of any kind"

Not really helpful... but for me we should understand as "must re-roll" as Allan said

Cheers,
Antoine

ledwarfou

Messages : 69
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  ElDorte on Thu 15 Nov - 8:18

If i cast speed of light on a unit with a tombking/prince in it. Do they strike with ws 10 or 6/5?

ElDorte

Messages : 181
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  darksteve on Thu 15 Nov - 11:22

€dited: ... wrong answer


Last edited by darksteve on Thu 15 Nov - 18:03; edited 1 time in total

darksteve

Messages : 312
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-25
Age : 32

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Thu 15 Nov - 17:09

The unit will use the unmodified WS of the king/prince but any character (even the king/prince that boost the unit) will go to WS10.
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  darksteve on Thu 15 Nov - 18:03

The unit will use the unmodified WS of the king/prince but any character (even the king/prince that boost the unit) will go to WS10.
You're right. Just checked the armybook and it simply says, that the unit uses the unmodified weapon skill - it's not an option.

darksteve

Messages : 312
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-25
Age : 32

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Wed 19 Dec - 9:47

Breton lance formation and attacks from rank 3 and behind

How are the attacks mentioned above resolved, when the lance is only in contact with characters say for example an Ogre formation 3 wide with 3 chars in the front rank?
Do they hit the unit or the chars?

My opinion would be that the unit is hit, but would like to be sure.

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Wed 19 Dec - 10:45


I don't have the book at hand, but if I remember well the other ranks can attack the same ennemy models that stand in front the of the knight in the first rank, can't they?

Thus, it would be the characters, wouldn't it?
avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  ledwarfou on Wed 19 Dec - 12:32

I checked in the army book, the book says nothing special about this, only that the models on the sides can attack when they charge in lance formation. Therefore my opinion is that the models on that flack attack as usual, so as if they would be one the first rank.
So for me they attack the character and not the unit.

Cheers,
Antoine

ledwarfou

Messages : 69
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Pulps on Wed 19 Dec - 13:21


2 quick questions:

-Is the anvil of doom considered shooting like a normal wm??

-If you fly over a mangler or a fanatics, is the flying unit considered to get in contact?


Pulps

Pulps

Messages : 222
Date d'inscription : 2011-05-21

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Wed 19 Dec - 13:26

Well the English and for what it is worth the german army book say on page 41:

"Note that any Knight that is in a position to fight, but is not actually in base contact with an enemy, cannot target specific models to attack."

Hence no character or champion can be attacked and attacks would have to be made against the unit.
The question was/is also controversely discussed in german forums with the majority (even some ETC referees) agreeing to that argument.

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  ledwarfou on Wed 19 Dec - 18:29

"Note that any Knight that is in a position to fight, but is not actually in base contact with an enemy, cannot target specific models to attack."

For me this sentence mean that the nights on the side cannot choose to attack specific model in this way they have to attack the same model as the knights of the first rank.
But I fully understand that is really controversial... We need a good answer Very Happy

ledwarfou

Messages : 69
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Wed 19 Dec - 18:41

Yeah, I see your point and it sounds logical enough. But in that case the Knight in the first rank is attacking a specific model which is just completing the circle. Smile

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Thu 17 Jan - 16:12


In fact, the answer was in the FAQ of the ETC Smile

6. What do Knights in the 3rd+ rank of Lance Formation attack, if the front model is touching only characters and champions?

A. Divide the attacks evenly between the characters/champions in base contact, randomizing the excess.

avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Fri 18 Jan - 7:38

Another mistery solved Smile

Makes Oger and Breton busses even better. Twisted Evil

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  darksteve on Mon 21 Jan - 9:16

@2dipicche:
Maybe you remember at our "discussion" at saturday about moving back- or sidewards.
I just checked again in the rulebook and it's clearly written on page 26, left column at the end in the example:

For example, a unit of Elves (Move 5) would be able to move 5" forwards or 3" (2.5" rounded up) backwarods or to the side

darksteve

Messages : 312
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-25
Age : 32

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Mon 21 Jan - 9:29

That's interesting !

I've always played the 2.5'' version, glad to hear that Smile
avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Mon 21 Jan - 9:42

darksteve wrote:@2dipicche:
Maybe you remember at our "discussion" at saturday about moving back- or sidewards.
I just checked again in the rulebook and it's clearly written on page 26, left column at the end in the example:

For example, a unit of Elves (Move 5) would be able to move 5" forwards or 3" (2.5" rounded up) backwarods or to the side

Tnks Smile
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 3 Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum