Rules issues

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Mon 24 Sep - 11:31


Just a topic where we can discuss about rules issues.

I open it just to say that some players (included Alan) made a mistake:

Q: If a Wizard has had his level reduced to 0 and he still knows one or more spells, can he attempt to cast them? (p31)
A: No.

Because I just read it Smile
avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Mon 24 Sep - 14:10

oops Smile



Actually i said it to Biboun but after he someone checked the rules and told us that a lvl0 wizard could still cast spells.
So I played like this against John without thinking about it...
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Dim on Tue 25 Sep - 7:15

Another issue:

What if a unit is pushed out of the table with the second spell of heaven?
Buchi told me that a FAQ clarified this and that the unit is removed, but I could not locate the FAQ.

Dim
Admin

Messages : 761
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-26

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Tue 25 Sep - 8:05


We were wondering the same with Antoine, because we couldn't find anything in the FAQ...

But that would be so overpowered Razz
avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Tue 25 Sep - 10:49

It has been ruled like this against me in a tournament in Germany and it was stated that a FAQ is supporting this ruling. In the game against Dim I have hence played it this way as Dim pushed one of my units out of the table I considered it destroyed, like falling from the edge of the world. Smile

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Tue 25 Sep - 13:32

Pag27, you can't exit the table if you are not fleeing, pursuing.
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Tue 25 Sep - 18:44

So what happens instead? Is it considered as impassable terrain or as open terrain but you just stop?

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Tue 25 Sep - 19:33

Let's see:


The unit can move (actually if you cast the spell from another direction you can move it), so no hits.

The unit can't be pushed out from the table, so it is not removed.

Sides of the table are no more impassible terrains (I couldn't find it, as it was in 7th edition).




So I would say that no hits are allocated.
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Fri 28 Sep - 7:53

Interesting Smile


Another question - Skaven have a rule "Might from Mass" or something like that, which grants them +1 leadership per rank.

Now in 7th edition, fleeing units had no ranks, in 8th edition rulebook I could not find such a reference under fleeing anymore. Did I miss something or do get fleeing Skaven now their rankbonus on leadership when fleeing and rolling to recover?

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Fri 28 Sep - 22:18


I don't have my Skaven armybook, but isn't it said that they get a +1 leadership per rank bonus (hence the max +3)

And as fleeing units do not have rank bonus, as well as those charged from the flank by a unit big enough, that's why they do not have the bonus on their leadership in such occasion.

avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Sat 29 Sep - 11:43

Where did you find that a fleeing unit doesn't have ranks ?
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Sat 29 Sep - 20:19

Told you Xavier Smile


Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Biboun on Mon 1 Oct - 12:10

The lvl 0 mage story was what Hammer told me and he had a FAQ in his hand! But guess he was wrong yes
avatar
Biboun

Messages : 541
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Xavier on Mon 1 Oct - 15:08


haha Buchi, I just downloaded the Skaven armybook... and I think to clarify your point you just need to read again what's written under "strenght in numbers"

first determine the unit's leadership as normal and then add the rank bonus of the unit to this value, up to a maximum of 10

If for any reasons the unit loses its rank bonus, it also loses its leadership bonus. For instance fleeing units do not have rank bonus, so fleeing units have to use their normal leadership value


cheers
avatar
Xavier
Admin

Messages : 773
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-18

View user profile http://swiss-etc.bbactif.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Mon 1 Oct - 18:37

Xavier wrote:
haha Buchi, I just downloaded the Skaven armybook... and I think to clarify your point you just need to read again what's written under "strenght in numbers"

first determine the unit's leadership as normal and then add the rank bonus of the unit to this value, up to a maximum of 10

If for any reasons the unit loses its rank bonus, it also loses its leadership bonus. For instance fleeing units do not have rank bonus, so fleeing units have to use their normal leadership value


cheers

This answer at my question, this is why I couldn't find it on the rulebook. I was almost sure on that (and I told you that, in my opinion, you were right at the tournament) but not finding it was driving me crazy Very Happy
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Biboun on Fri 5 Oct - 11:38

Question :

How does it happen with regards to spells my sorcerer orcs can choose, knowing that both of them are lvl 4 in the big waagh ? I'm going to bring out an example to illustrate what I want to do :

First lvl 4 goes for his spells and rolls 1,4,5,6. I keep those spells and don't choose the core spell. Then the second lvl 4 goes for his spells and rolls 1,2,4,5. As I have now a few doubles, I guess I have to swap one the spells (let's say 1) for the number 3. Now what about the spell 4 and 5 ? They are doubles two, can I keep them or swap them for the 6 or 1 ?


Can't figure that out, help please Smile

Cheers,

Biboun
avatar
Biboun

Messages : 541
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  darksteve on Fri 5 Oct - 11:54

No, it's not possible to double a spell other than the signature spell (except you have a loremaster or similar ability to choose the spell).

This means, if you have to level 4 wizards with a lore with 7 spells, both should take the signature spell, otherwise one of them has only 3 spells.

darksteve

Messages : 312
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-25
Age : 32

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Fri 5 Oct - 12:27

Xavier wrote:
haha Buchi, I just downloaded the Skaven armybook... and I think to clarify your point you just need to read again what's written under "strenght in numbers"

first determine the unit's leadership as normal and then add the rank bonus of the unit to this value, up to a maximum of 10

If for any reasons the unit loses its rank bonus, it also loses its leadership bonus. For instance fleeing units do not have rank bonus, so fleeing units have to use their normal leadership value


cheers

But that was based on the 7th edition rules ( the Skaven book ist still from that time), where fleeing indeed cost you the rank bonus. Now in 8th that is not anymore the case as the core rule book does not know losing rank bonus when fleeing anymore as far as I know and that is, why Alan could not find it.
Now, I know that army books overrule the core rule book, but if that was the case then shooting with canons or bolt throwers and the like at fleeing units would only ever net a maximum of 1 casualty as fleeing units would have no ranks. I have never someone seen who played that way in all of 8th edition. Did anyone of you?

Issue is really interesting though!

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Biboun on Fri 5 Oct - 13:02

darksteve wrote:No, it's not possible to double a spell other than the signature spell (except you have a loremaster or similar ability to choose the spell).

This means, if you have to level 4 wizards with a lore with 7 spells, both should take the signature spell, otherwise one of them has only 3 spells.

Thanks Smile
avatar
Biboun

Messages : 541
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  2dipicche on Fri 5 Oct - 13:56

Buchi wrote:
Xavier wrote:
haha Buchi, I just downloaded the Skaven armybook... and I think to clarify your point you just need to read again what's written under "strenght in numbers"

first determine the unit's leadership as normal and then add the rank bonus of the unit to this value, up to a maximum of 10

If for any reasons the unit loses its rank bonus, it also loses its leadership bonus. For instance fleeing units do not have rank bonus, so fleeing units have to use their normal leadership value


cheers


But that was based on the 7th edition rules ( the Skaven book ist still from that time), where fleeing indeed cost you the rank bonus. Now in 8th that is not anymore the case as the core rule book does not know losing rank bonus when fleeing anymore as far as I know and that is, why Alan could not find it.
Now, I know that army books overrule the core rule book, but if that was the case then shooting with canons or bolt throwers and the like at fleeing units would only ever net a maximum of 1 casualty as fleeing units would have no ranks. I have never someone seen who played that way in all of 8th edition. Did anyone of you?

Issue is really interesting though!



Thomas not having "ranks" and not having "bonus rank" are two different things. I couldn't find it because I searched in the rulebook, if the skaven book says that a fleeing unit doesn't have rank bonus it means that fleeing-skaven-units-doesn't-have-ranks-bonus.


In addition to that I woulds add that a bolt thrower (and a cannon too) in 8 edition can kill one model per rank of skirmishers units. Even if they never get bonus they have ranks...
avatar
2dipicche

Messages : 385
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-28
Age : 28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Buchi on Fri 5 Oct - 14:11

Thanks - that clarifies it for me! cheers

Buchi

Messages : 532
Date d'inscription : 2011-04-13
Age : 41
Localisation : Uster

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Biboun on Tue 16 Oct - 12:04

Question :

Can you go over the "ETC limit" of 4-5 dices with a power stone to throw a spell ? Smile

Cheers,

Biboun
avatar
Biboun

Messages : 541
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  darksteve on Tue 16 Oct - 12:14

No, there are no exceptions as far as I know.

darksteve

Messages : 312
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-25
Age : 32

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Biboun on Tue 16 Oct - 12:16

Okay thanks!
avatar
Biboun

Messages : 541
Date d'inscription : 2008-03-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  sevic on Mon 5 Nov - 20:49

Do someone knows if the leadership of the dark elf assassin (10) count for the 0 spell of Death's lore?

sevic

Messages : 340
Date d'inscription : 2012-09-30

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules issues

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum